Search Tips
- Look for a Help, Guide, or Tips link to learn more about each database.
- Look at subject headings for additional search terms. This is how databases describe resources.
- Try searching in databases of other subject areas. They may have articles on your topic
- For more information on the research process, see the LILO tutorial
Cite Your Sources
Avoid plagiarism by citing your sources! These websites help you cite sources in different styles. You may want to compare your results with examples from your textbook or a style manual.
- Research and Documentation OnlineThis website explains how to format research papers in the major writing styles with examples.
- Citation MachineFill in the forms provided to create citations.
- BibMeSearch book records to cite or fill in your own citation information
Library Exercise
Find Books
Use the Voyager Book Catalog link to find books at the Mookini Library.
Choose All UH Libraries to find books at Manoa or other libraries in the UH system.
Search for topics by doing a keyword search or search for a specific title by doing a 'title keyword' or 'title begins with' search.
Use the Advanced Search to find items by Subject or to use special search limits.
Online Book Collections
Check out our different online book collections. Ebrary has more than 45,000 online books available. Create an ebrary account to use special features including the Bookshelf, which keeps track of books you have looked at previously.
For career information, Learning Express Library has online books and practice exams.
Find Journals and Articles
Use the library's Largest Full-Text Databases to see a list of the commonly-used databases the library subscribes to. Choose Databases by Subject Area to see a list of databases organized by major subjects. To find out if the library has a subscription to a periodical, search Journals by Title. Some of the most popular full-text databases include the following:
- Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) Databases by EBSCOhost allow you search for full text articles in different subject. Use the "Choose Databases" link to see list of the library's EBSCO databases. Email or save articles with citations in different styles.
- JSTOR An archive of scholarly articles. A great resource for historical or cultural research.
- LexisNexis Academic A great source of news, legal, and business information.
- Project MUSE A source of more than 100 journals in the humanities and the social sciences.
Encyclopedias and Reference Sources
Reference sources are great starting points for research if you need to gather background information.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online
- Literature Resource Center Author information and literary references
Accessing Library Resources
To access the library resources from home, you will need to register with the library. You can fill out the ID registration form at the Circulation desk or use the Online ID Registration form. It may take at least 24 hours to activate your account if you use the online form.
Please fill out the Database Troubleshooting form if you have problems with database access.
Library Survey
Please help us assess library services by taking the library survey.

Loading...
