This is the "Home" page of the "Astronomy & Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Astronomy & Physics   Tags: astronomy, physics  

A Guide to Books, Journals, Websites, and Other Resources
Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.uhh.hawaii.edu/astronomy Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome!

This guide is intended to help you start your research - it is not a complete list of all materials available.

Please contact me if you would like further assistance (see the box with the photo on the right).

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a state-of-the-art platform streaming educational videos in numerous subject areas, including Business, Health, Humanities, Maths, and Sciences - both Natural and Social.  Ask your instructor if you can use a film clip as a source for your paper/project.

Research Strategy

Zotero and Mendeley are two freely-available bibliographic management programs.

Mookini Library also subscribes to two online bibliographic management services that allow UH Hilo faculty and students to store and organize citations and can automatically create a draft bibliography* from the citations.  RefWorks and EndNote Web take some getting used to, but are valuable tools. Both have good tutorials and help pages or you can Book-a-Librarian for an introduction.

* You are still responsible for verifying the correctness of the automatically-created bibliography, but that's still easier than typing the citations yourself!

Research Methods and Writing for the Profession

Best American Science Writing
General Collection: Q 158.5 .B47

College Student's Research Companion
General Collection: Z 710 .Q37 1997

Doing Science: Design, Analysis, and Communication of Scientific Research
General Collection: Q 180.A1 V35 2001

A Field Guide For Science Writers: The Official Guide of the National Association of Science Writers
General Collection: T 11 .F52 1997

Learning to Communicate in Science and Engineering
General Collection: Q 223 .P64 2010

Making Sense: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing: Engineering and the Technical Sciences
General Collection: T 11 . N675 2009

Science and Technology Research: Writing Strategies for Students
General Collection: Z 710 .N47 2002

Writing and Presenting Scientific Papers
General Collection: T 11 .M3344 2004

How To Do Academic Research

Some Things You MUST Accept About Academic Research

1.  Academic Research takes TIME - much more than you think.  Finding any information is easy, thanks to Google.  But finding GOOD information requires some effort.

2.  Academic Research is a trial-and-error process: you will search, see what you get, look for other keywords, subject headings, and alternative terms authors use that you hadn't thought of... and then use those to search again.

3.  Academic Research requires looking in more than one place.  The really important scholarly stuff isn't available freely on the Internet and isn't collected conveniently together - you'll have to search several databases, depending on the types of sources you need.  {You did read your assignment to find out what types of sources you're supposed to be looking for, right?}

4.  You will read much more than you will use*.  You may only need 5 sources, but you will probably review 2-3 times that many to find the 5 that are best for your particular need.

5.  Ready for some good news?  Most academic sources have a list of references - just like the one you need to create - so often one source will lead you to other sources on your topic.

* Higher education isn't supposed to be about the grades or the diploma; it's supposed to be about the education, the learning, the knowing - reading more than the minimum required for a particular assignment isn't a waste of time.

Topics, Thesis, and Keywords

The Topic Strategy Guide shows you how to choose a topic, focus the topic, develop a thesis statement, and select search terms and strategies to find resources on your topic.

Librarian

Profile Image
Amy Saxton
Contact Info
saxton@hawaii.edu
808.932.7331
Mookini Library
University of Hawaii at Hilo
200 W. Kawili St.
Hilo, HI 96720
Send Email
Additional Information:
I am a Public Services Librarian, serving both UH Hilo and Hawai'i CC. I am also the Distance Learning Librarian for both campuses, providing library support for distance learning faculty and students.

Validate Your ID

To access online resources you must validate your ID each semester. Online validation is not immediate - you can also go into any UH Library to validate your ID.

 

QR Code

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip