This is the "Home" page of the "Marine Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marine Science   Tags: marine_science  

A Guide to Books, Journals, Websites, and Other Resources
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.uhh.hawaii.edu/marine_science Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome!

This guide is intended to help you start your research - it is not a complete list of all materials available.

Please contact me if you would like further assistance (see the box with the photo on the right).

Films on Demand

Films On Demand  is a state-of-the-art platform streaming educational videos in numerous subject areas, including Business, Health, Humanities, Maths, and Sciences - both Natural and Social.  Ask your instructor if you can use a film clip as a source for your paper/project.

 

QR Code

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide.

Research Methods and Writing for the Profession

Best American Science Writing
General Collection: Q 158.5 .B47

College Student's Research Companion
General Collection: Z 710 .Q37 1997

Doing Science: Design, Analysis, and Communication of Scientific Research
General Collection: Q 180.A1 V35 2001

A Field Guide For Science Writers: The Official Guide of the National Association of Science Writers
General Collection: T 11 .F52 1997

Learning to Communicate in Science and Engineering
General Collection: Q 223 .P64 2010

Making Sense: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing: Engineering and the Technical Sciences
General Collection: T 11 . N675 2009

Science and Technology Research: Writing Strategies for Students
General Collection: Z 710 .N47 2002

Writing and Presenting Scientific Papers
General Collection: T 11 .M3344 2004

Research Strategy

Zotero and Mendeley are two freely-available bibliographic management programs.

Mookini Library also subscribes to two online bibliographic management services that allow UHH faculty and students to store and organize citations and can automatically create a draft bibliography* from the citations.  RefWorks and EndNote Web do take some getting used to, but are valuable tools. Both have good tutorials and help pages or you can Book-a-Librarian for an introduction.

* You are still responsible for verifying the correctness of the automatically-created bibliography, but that's still easier than typing the citations yourself!

Librarian

Profile Image
Amy Saxton
Contact Info
saxton@hawaii.edu
808.974.7733
Mookini Library
University of Hawaii at Hilo
200 W. Kawili St.
Hilo, HI 96720
Send Email
Additional Information:
Amy Saxton will be on sabbatical Feb. 1 - July 31, 2013. Please contact mookini@hawaii.edu to be directed to the person best able to assist you.

Search Tips

Most databases will let you use these tricks:

Truncation is used to find variations of a word ending:

Hawai* {note only one i} will find Hawaii, Hawai‘i, Hawaii's, Hawai‘i's, Hawaiian, Hawaiians, Hawaiiana

navigat* will find navigate, navigating, navigation, navigators

Wildcards allow you to find variations within a word:

wom?n will find woman and women

organi?ation will find organization and organisation

Phrase searching will keep two or more words together:

"quantum theory"  "multiple personality"  "marine biology"

WARNING: different databases use different symbols!  You must check the Help area of each database to know what to use.  For example, Voyager uses a ? for truncation and % for wildcard, while EBSCOhost uses a * for truncation and ? for wildcard.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip