Current EventsEducationEnvironmentGenealogyGovernment/LegislationHistory/CultureLanguageMusic
This is the "Home" page of the "Hawaiian Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hawaiian Collection  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.uhh.hawaii.edu/hawaiian Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Aloha

Welcome Library Users,

This guide will introduce you to many resources that will support and enhance your study of Hawai`i and its people.

However, nothing is quite as rewarding as a visit to the Hawaiian Collection where you can explore the stacks and discover treasures to enlighten and inform.

Basic Research Skills

 

Hawaiian Ki`i

 

Photography

Black and white photographs courtesy of Hawaii State Archive.

Color photos courtesy of J. Jacobs and Coconut Info.

 

Hilo Coastline

 

Online Books

Digital Dissertations
Online access to full-text for most titles added to the Dissertation Abstracts database since 1997. Dissertations and theses have great lists of References, i.e., other sources on the subject (hint, hint).

ebrary
Thousands of titles and you can search within the text! To create an account, click on "Sign In" at the upper left, then "Need to create a new bookshelf?" Your username and password can be anything.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection
Search within the full text of thousands of books in all subject areas using the familiar EBSCOhost interface.

Online Books Page
Thousands of freely available eBooks.

 

Hawaiian Collection Vault

Selected rare materials are housed in the Vault located in the Hawaiian Collection. These materials are for library use only and are to be kept within the Collection.

How to request Vault Material

A current UH ID or other valid picture ID must be presented and left with the Hawaiian Collection staff while the materials are in use.

When a Hawaiian Collection staff member is not available to retrieve the requested item from the Vault, a prospective borrower may be asked to return at a later time.  Student assistants working in the Collection do not have access to the Vault when a staff member is not on duty.

Photocopying is at the discretion of the staff, depending on an item’s condition.

 

Hawaiian Collection Contact Information

Edwin H. Mookini Library

Hawaiian Collection

200 W. Kawili St.

Hilo, HI 96720

808-933-9924

808-933-2488

mookini@hawaii.edu

Citations

Don't forget to Cite Your Sources!

 

Hawaiian Sunset

 

QR Code

Scan to access the mobile version of this guide.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip